InnoVoter: Young people design applications to show progress and preliminary results of elections, in real-time

The first elections creative laboratory – InnoVoter – was launched today, 14 September 2018. The event was attended by 30 young people passionate for technologies and innovations.

InnoVoter represents a contest of ideas dedicated to developers and designers. For three days, they will work in six teams to create the coolest, simplest and most attractive methods to present the elections’ progress and preliminary results in real-time during the elections day. The event takes place in the framework of the “Enhancing democracy in Moldova through inclusive and transparent elections” project implemented by UNDP Moldova with the financial of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), the British Embassy in Chisinau through the Good Governance Fund and by the Embassy of Netherlands through Matra Programme.

Presenting the voting progress in real-time and the preliminary results during upcoming parliamentary elections could challenge the Central Electoral Commission. For the first time, the elections will be held based on a new electoral system – the Mixed Electoral System. This means that 50 out of 101 Members of Parliament will be elected based on party lists for the national constituency and the other 51 – based on uninominal constituencies.

“New creative and innovative solutions are needed to ensure real-time graphic visualisation of election data on Election Day in a simple, user-friendly and accessible way,” mentioned Stefan Liller, UNDP Deputy Resident Representative.

The CEC President, Alina Russu, told the participants: “We wish you a lot of success, creativity and inventiveness, because through your contribution the real-time reflection of the voting and preliminary results will become accessible, transparent and available to all citizens of the Republic of Moldova.”

The six teams will work on their ideas on Friday and Saturday to present their prototypes to the panel on Sunday, 16 September. Three teams will be selected as winners and receive prizes.